Gobble Gobble…Thanksgiving Break Is Here

I started writing this blog last Friday afternoon while working at the Alumni House. At that time, the WIU campus was looking pretty empty because most students had already left for Thanksgiving Break. Although my trip home is only thirty minutes away, I am still very excited to get home and see my family. All I can think about is the incredible home cooked food I am going to eat and that I finally get to see my best friends from high school that I haven’t seen since the summer!

Thanksgiving Break comes at just the right time because as the end of the semester draws near, classes are getting very intense; we all deserve a little break and some much-needed family time. I won’t exactly be relaxing the entire break though as I have a ten-page research paper due on Thanksgiving Day. Thankfully, I already have a good start on it. I will also continue blogging during the break so keep checking in on this site.

Many WIU students rode the Amtrak train home (and will ride it back) during the holiday break, so much so that on Nov. 30th, Amtrak is offering an extra train route due to the expected increase in holiday passengers. Amtrak usually only offers two daily round trips from the Chicago to Quincy corridor, but Amtrak will be offering a third train option on Sunday. I think it’s great that Amtrak is accommodating its customers’ needs.

Last week, prior to the break, I had two adviser meetings to get my class schedule set for next semester; I have a double major so I’m required to meet with both my broadcasting and journalism advisers each semester. It is both exciting and scary to start thinking about next semester. I will be a senior, with two semesters left; I’m graduating a semester earlier and will be done around this time next year. I’m glad I am staying on track with my goal of graduating early, but I don’t feel ready to leave; it seems like just yesterday I was a freshman.

I’m going to make the most out of my next two semesters at Western. I was recently elected Philanthropy Chair of my sorority and will start my duties next semester. I am very passionate about our chapter’s philanthropic focus, “School and College Readiness,” and can’t wait to be a leader on executive board for our chapter. Ever since I was initiated into Phi Sigma Sigma, I knew I wanted to step up and be on the executive board and it is finally my time. Recently, I accepted an internship offer for next semester; I will be working with my journalism professor, Dr. Siddiqi, helping with media communication for an international organization, the World’s Parliament of Religions. This opportunity is very exciting because my dream is to someday work internationally. I have a lot on my plate next semester, but I’m confident the hard work will pay off.

Have a Happy Thanksgiving and don’t do too much shopping on Black Friday!

Leave a Reply

