So Long, Farewell to You My Friends

It’s time to say goodbye to you, my WIU readers. I finished my last final on Thursday and now it’s time for winter break.

This week was bittersweet…my last day at the Alumni House was on Thursday and the time has come for me to sign off. The Alumni Programs staff threw some of the other student workers and me a celebratory lunch that day; we enjoyed eating Aurelio’s pizza (my favorite, yum!). I will miss seeing the staff every day; they all made me feel so welcomed from the very first day I started. Bev greeted me every day when I came in for work and Kim and I would always catch up when she passed my workstation. Each and every one of them always brought a smile to my face. I’ve had an amazing experience promoting this great university and interviewing many wonderful WIU staff, faculty, and students. Writing is my passion; being able to express myself and get experience with blogging and social media is a dream come true. I’m so thankful for this internship opportunity Western has given me.

I could not write a goodbye blog without thanking the Associate Director of Alumni Programs, Amanda Shoemaker. She has advised me throughout this internship and edited every blog I wrote. Every week she took time out of her busy schedule to meet with me. We discussed ideas for future blogs and talked about what I needed to work on for the next set of blogs. She has helped me improve my writing skills; her hard work has been greatly appreciated. I will take all the things I’ve learned through this internship and apply it to my next one.

Although I’m sad to leave the Alumni Association, when one door closes another door opens…as I’ve mentioned before, my next internship will be working under the advisement of Journalism Program Director Dr. Siddiqi. I will be interning for a nonprofit organization called the Parliament of World’s Religions and promoting the 2015 Parliament of the World’s Religions Conference in Salt Lake City.

I can’t wait to see where my future will take me in the public relations field. This spring, I will be a senior here at WIU. It feels like just yesterday I was a freshman. I’m going to make the most of this year on campus by being involved as much as I can.

Have a great holiday break!

Signing off, for the last time,

Your Fall 2014 WIU Alumni Association Online Communications Coordinator

Shani Belshaw

Leave a Reply

